Contact Us | Print Page
Latest News: Learned Society

Acknowledging Ex-Presidents

Friday, 13 October 2017  
Posted by: Adam Leach
Share |

Three former Society presidents have received honorary memberships for their outstanding contributions over the years. They are Alex Gray, Andrew Dallas and Dene Cook.

Alex was on the NZCS council from 1995 to 2013, and president from 1999 to 2000. During his tenure he was instrumental in getting several concrete awards established. He has been avidly involved in Concrete Conferences and has been chairman of the awards panel for several years. He currently works at Impact Project Management where he is involved in the Wellington Airport terminal building upgrade. 

Andrew was on the NZCS council from 1999 to 2008, and president from 2003 to 2004. He is still active, delivering seminars for the society. He was instrumental in improving concrete technology and construction practice, which eventually lead to the creation of Conslab as a specialist concrete contracting business. He is involved in improving industrial concrete floors in New Zealand both as the technical director of Conslab, and as a guest lecturer at University of Auckland.

Dene has been on the NZCS council since 2007, and was president from 2009 to 2010. He is highly-respected for his technical knowledge and advice across the concrete industry and structural engineering profession. During his tenure at CCANZ Dene was involved in both design and construction issues affecting the concrete industry. He took over from Prof. Bob Park as the chairman on the NZS 3101 committee. He was also involved in numerous other standards committees, and was chairman of the Canterbury Structures Group for many years. He is currently technical manager at Humes/Firth.

Dene Cook  Andrew Dallas  Alex Grey