Contact Us | Print Page
NZ Concrete Industry Conference 2006
Share |

Christchurch 2006
Christchurch Convention Centre, Christchurch
29 September – 1 October 2006

Session 1:
Chairman:  Paul Wymer

1      ‘RWC 2011 – The Infrastructure Required’
        Rob Fisher – Simpson Grierson

2      ‘Burj Dubai – World’s Tallest Building’
        Greg Sang – Emaar Properties PJSC

Session 2:
Chairman: Chris Munn

1      ‘The Auckland War Memorial Museum Underpinned with Modern Technology’
        Grant Thomas – Hawkins Construction Ltd; Michael Khrapko – CBE Consultancy Ltd

2      ‘NZ’s First Post-Tensioned Concrete Masonry House’
        Gavin Wight – VSL Australia; Jason Ingham – University of Auckland; Andrew Wilton – Wilton Joubert Ltd

3      ‘History, Current Practice & Future Developments in Australian Concrete Water Storage Structures’
        Michael Salu, Dion Turner – Parsons Brinckerhoff Australia Pty Ltd

Session 2A:  NZRMCA Concurrent Session
Chairman:  Rob Green

1      ‘Drug & Alcohol Free Workplace’
        Susan Nolan – ESR

2      ‘Human Resources in the Concrete Industry’
        Janet Copeland – Janet Copeland Law

Session 3: 
Chairman:  Jeff Matthews

1      ‘Trench Design & Construction for the Wellington Inner City Bypass’
        Pathmanathan Brabhaharan, Keith Atkinson, Tahu Taylor-Koolen – Opus International Consultants; Richard Fulton – Fulton Hogan Ltd

2      ‘New Standard Bridge Beams Project’
        Phil Gaby – Beca Carter Hollings & Ferner; Donald Kirkcaldie – Opus International Consultants

3      ‘Advanced Fibre Reinforced Precast Concrete Beam-Column Joints’

Session 3A:  NZRMCA Concurrent Session
Chairman:  Rob Green

1      ‘Competition Law & its Importance to the Concrete Industry’
        Ian Mutton

2      ‘Rheological Properties of NZ Concrete’
        James Mackenzie – University of Canterbury
        Nicholas Brooke, Jason Ingham – University of Auckland

Session 4:
Chairman:  Dene Cook

1      ‘The Impact of Global Warming’
        Stuart Frazer – Frazer Lindstrom Limited

2      ‘Cable Stayed Structures & Stay Cable Technology – Case Studies from Europe, Asia, Australia & the Proposed First NZ Project’
        Marcel Poser – BBR VT International Ltd

3      ‘Runway Underpass for Wellington International Airport’

Session 5:
Chairman:  Russell Bennetto

1      ‘Design & Construction Aspects of Post-Tensioned LNG Storage Tanks in Europe & Australasia’
        Hudson Lun, Frank Filippone – Structural Systems Ltd; Diana Cobos Roger – BBR Spain; Marcel Poser – BBR VT International

2      ‘Ruakuri Caves’
        Tanya Wylie – Thorburn Consultants (NZ) Ltd; Martin Hansen – Hawkins Construction Ltd

3      ‘Te Apiti Wind Farm Turbine Foundations: Design & Construction’
        Robert Davey – Opus International Consultants Ltd; Rob Green – Higgins Group

Session 6: 
Chairman:  Warren South

1      ‘Use of Rheology to Develop & Optimize Self Compacting Concrete’
        Olafur Wallevik – IBRI Rheocenter

2      ‘Weathertightness Design Resource for Concrete Masonry Construction’
        Morten Gjerde – Victoria University of Wellington; Patrick McGuire – CCANZ

3      ‘Weird & Wonderful in the World of Concrete’
        Andrew Dallas – Allied Concrete

4      ‘Performance of Damage-Protected Beam-Column Joints Subjected to Bi‑Directional Lateral Loading’
        John Mander, Kevin Solberg, Luoman Li, Brendon Bradley, Rajesh Dhakal – University of Canterbury

Session 7:
Chairman:  Rob Green

1      ‘Innovative Construction Techniques Used at Middlemore Hospital Carpark, Auckland’
        Brad Hannan – VSL Australia Pty Ltd; Bert Denee – Kalmar Projects Limited

2      ‘Unbonded Prestressed Panel Tendon Stress at In-Plane Flexural Strength’
        Gavin Wight – VSL Australia; Alistair Russell, Jason Ingham – University of Auckland

3      ‘Concrete Roof Support at Waihi Gold’
        Bruce Cloughley – BASF Construction Chemicals

DISCLAIMER:  Please note conference papers are checked by the Conference Organising Committee for overt commercialism only, the papers have not been peer reviewed. Technical accuracy is the responsibility of the authors involved.